top of page

Research & Exploration: Upper Strings

Continuing the search for the sounds, I've cruised the internet in search of websites and videos that demonstrate at least some of the seemingly-unending array of possibilities. While I have yet to find a resource for the upper strings as comprehensive as the ones I've mentioned for cello and harp, I have found some good starting points.

First, a fantastic summary of tango techniques for the violin.

Second, "a free online resource demonstrating extended techniques for strings in the orchestral and chamber works of Andrew Norman."

Lastly, I cannot not mention one of my favorite composers, a man whose sonic imagination seemingly knows no bounds: Helmut Lachenmann. While searching for string techniques, I pored over his string quartet scores in search of sounds that could comfortably exist in my musical world (though always a searching for inspiration, I have NO intention of composing pastiche music). Here is a link to Gran Torso (#1) and here is a link to Grido (#3). Unfortunately, I cannot find a copy of Reigen seliger Geister (#2) online.

Above is a little sonic taste.

When you really want to get into it, check out the peerless Arditti Quartet play (read: slay) all three quartets here.

One type of sound that I found utterly captivating was that achieved through the pressed bow technique. When experimenting with these on a violin that was VERY generously given to me by my friend and fellow Minnesota-based composer Jed Larson (check out his work here), I found that I was especially taken with a variation of the effect where the left-hand does NOT mute anything. When used in this manner, the effect takes on a rather magical character. The bowed string bursts with harmonic content and the unused strings vibrate sympathetically. It's certainly a departure from how a violin is 'supposed' to be played, but one that I think is quite wonderful.

Beyond its inherent beauty (at least to my ears) this effect is especially useful for me as it allows a kind of natural connection between the noise-based vocabulary and the harmonic vocabulary of this piece. As the score shapes up, you will be able to see just how I approach this, but for now, enjoy the Lachenmann quartets and get your score study on!

RECENT POSTS: 

ARCHIVE:

TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page