top of page

Research & Exploration: Sibelius Academy Harp Notation Manual

As I've continued to seek out the perfect sounds for the concerto, I accidentally discovered a harp resource that was, until this moment, unknown to me (1): The Sibelius Academy Harp Notation Manual.

While I can't overstate the importance and value of actually working with a harpist when writing for harp (2), this website might be the single greatest online resource I have come across - both for its quality and for its nearly-comprehensive coverage of technique.

Another site well worth a visit is Composing for Harp. I have to be honest and say I don't' like it quite as much as the Sibelius Academy website (I just find the Academy website easier to search/navigate), but a diversity of approach and opinion is always a good thing.

Happy exploring!

--------

1. This was quite surprising considering the amount of research I put in while writing my solo harp piece Within!

2. Pro tip: If you don't know a harpist, consider sending a snippet to Olivia Jageurs at 15 Second Harp.

RECENT POSTS: 

ARCHIVE:

TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page