top of page

Tools of the Trade : Trello

The most challenging aspect of developing a concept (at least for me) is finding a way to capture, collect, and organize the ideas that will eventually comprise the creation (i.e. the composition, the project, the post, etc.).

Over the years, I've tried many things: notebooks, notepads, sticky notes, folders, binders, binders filled with folders, and, of course, the classic pen and napkin combo.

Although much of the above is irreplaceable in its own way (long live the humble pen and napkin!), they all share the same drawbacks: they are static, singular, and, for the most part, don't play well with others.

What do I mean? Simply that physical items can't grow, exist in multiple places at once, or meaningfully link to one another (unless they are specially made for it). While these qualities make for great artifacts (think priceless one-of-a-kind manuscripts), they present significant practical issues during the creative process - especially when that process involves group work, multiple locations, and a slightly spaced out composer with a tendency to forget where he's placed things (me).

Here is where a little app called Trello comes into play.

Taco, the Trello spokes-husky

I should start by saying that I don't work for them and am in no way sponsored or reimbursed, so the gushing review you're about to read is the result of nothing more than adoration. (That said, if you happen to be from Trello and would like to show some love, I would never say 'no'!)

So what is Trello and why is it so great? Let me define it in relation to the issues I mentioned above: Trello is a dynamic list-making app that syncs across devices; allows you - and collaborators! - to add/delete/edit endlessly; and can handle links, attachments, and integrations effortlessly. It is literally every organization/collaboration tool you could ever desire rolled into one intuitive package. And did I mention it's free? (There are premium options available, but everything I'm raving about is available in the free version.)

THE FUTURE IS NOW!

Seriously, just go check it out and play around. Though examples of how to use this app abound, I highly recommend starting without any preconceptions of how one is 'supposed' to use it. Doing this is what made the app work for me (unlike many of the suggestions).

If you come up with something great, share it below! As the project unfolds, I'll share just what I use this tool for and follow up with a video tutorial showing the how.

RECENT POSTS: 

ARCHIVE:

TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page